What love languages do members of your family use? How do you know?

Too Tired? Too Anxious? Need More Time? We’ve got your back.

Submit Your Instructions


Marriage and the Family

1: Words of Affirmation Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words “I love you” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten.
2: Quality Time – For those whose love language is spoken with Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feels truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be exceedingly hurtful.
3: Receiving Gifts – Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, cared for, and prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures.
4: Acts of Service – Can vacuuming the floors be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most wants to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and doing more work tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter.
5: Physical Touch – This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive.
Answer each of the following questions in 3 or more sentences. Write the question; under it, write your response.
1. What do you think is the correct love language for you? Explain why. This may also be a combination.
2. What love languages do members of your family use? How do you know?
3. What may be some of the conflicts love languages cause in your family? Explain
4. The expert says that we get our love languages from our parents. How could we change our love languages to keep the peace in our family? Explain
5. How could you find out the love language of members of your family? Explain
APA Format
Course Materials: Lamanna, Mary Ann and Agnes Riedmann. Marriages and Families, 13th ed. Cengage, 2018.ISBN: 978-128573697-6


The concept of love languages refers to the ways in which individuals express and interpret love and affection. The five love languages are Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch.

To determine the correct love language for oneself, it is important to reflect on how one feels valued and appreciated in relationships. A love language quiz can also be taken to help determine one’s primary love language. It is common for individuals to have a combination of love languages, meaning that they value and appreciate different forms of expression.

In my personal experience, I have found that my love language is a combination of Quality Time and Acts of Service. Spending quality time with my loved ones, such as engaging in meaningful conversations and shared activities, is important to me. I also feel appreciated when my loved ones perform acts of service, such as cooking a meal or helping me with a task, as it shows that they are willing to put in effort for my well-being.

Understanding one’s own love language and being aware of the love languages of others can greatly improve relationships and enhance the experience of love and affection. By communicating our love languages and being respectful of each other’s needs, we can ensure that our relationships are healthy and fulfilling.

Too Tired? Too Anxious? Need More Time? We’ve got your back.

Submit Your Instructions

Leave a comment